top of page
  • Writer's pictureMamo

Love the World

Updated: Dec 31, 2020

On a Covid-era video chat with out-of-state grandparents M overheard the adults talking about how the world is different now. M was asked how he would help the world. His response was that he would hug the world! How can such a sweet thing be done?

While picking up garbage on our walk with a grabber tool I said it was like he was hugging the world by cleaning it up. We chose to sponsor a little boy who lives in Bangladesh who was born on the same day as M. M is already very interested in knowing what the little boy’s life and home is like and how it is similar/different than his own. I'm thankful for technology that can allow a type of hug to be given on the other side of the world, on the other side of the country, and on the other side of our neighborhood.


Manna:

  • Consider donating to a charity and praying for the people affected. Pick a charity or charitable cause that specifically connects to your child’s interests. Talk to them about why you’re giving the money.

  • Consider setting aside a weekly or monthly giving budget and have fun seeking different ways with your child to encourage and support your community. Keep your eyes open. Do you know someone moving? Offer to help or drop off cool drinks chosen by your child. Has someone lost a loved one? Take over a meal or send a gift card to a place your child has chosen. Is a friend sick? Send them a care package. See someone holding a sign asking for help at an intersection? Gather things together and make a blessing bag filled with snacks and toiletries for them. Is someone having a hard time? Leave a fun little gift on their porch. Intentionally seeking ways to love can break up the monotony of Covid stay-at-home life.

  • Pray for how God can use you and what He’s blessed you specifically with to help put other people at the feet of Jesus, no matter where they are.


As M was getting ready for bed he said he was going to dream about the whole world. I want to adopt this phrase too, when praying, because the whole world is His and needs to be thought of and cared for. As I lay with M on his queen size bumpered bed, helping him get to sleep, I looked up at the neon green stars shining on his ceiling and couldn’t help but think about the idea of people thousands of miles away seeing the same stars that we could see in our sky. I may think those people are very different from me and find it hard to relate to what they are going through, but I can feel connected to them by the idea of seeing the same stars and being made by the same Creator. Every person I walk by, every person I hear about, every person I’ve ever met and will never meet is pursued by God with a never-stopping, never-giving up kind of Love. Intentionally thinking about people this way brings about a different way of living and this way of living brings about a better way of loving.


Lord,

My heart breaks when I think of all the brokenness and sadness in the world and how it seems like so many aren't being helped. But then I'm reminded it's not my job to save everyone. You, Jesus, have already done that. Lift my burden and give me peace that You indeed have everyone in Your hands and in Your vision. May they all look up and find You already lovingly looking back at them.

May everyone in this world be permanently in my prayers, for You have called us to love our neighbor, our enemy, and that person across the globe with the same love that You have for them. When it seems hard to find anything lovable about someone I pray that we see You in them. For You, indeed, are lovable.

May we not hesitate in loving others with the blessings You’ve given us.

Amen.

21 views

Recent Posts

See All

Love God

Back when M was doing virtual school circle times, his teacher asked who was in his family to get to know him better. The first thing he said was, "God." God is in our family because we talk to Him th

Love Family

A friend asked me how I know that my 3 year old son loves me. I had to think about it to answer with more than a, “I just know”. We all say “I love you” in my family, but how is it demonstrated? M oft

bottom of page