top of page
  • Writer's pictureMamo

Love God

Updated: Dec 31, 2020

Back when M was doing virtual school circle times, his teacher asked who was in his family to get to know him better. The first thing he said was, "God." God is in our family because we talk to Him through prayer, we read about Him in the Bible, and we talk about His Truths in our lives. We hear His Words so much that we can’t help but quote them to each other. Not all times are easy with this Holy family member. As M’s faith journey continues I imagine that sometimes he will get angry or sad with God and sometimes M will giggle with delight with Him so much that his belly hurts. God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are always with M, loving him, and working to make M more like Him, no matter what M is facing. God protects, guides, and instructs my little boy just as He does me.

We respect God by making Him priority in our family and in our hearts. I continually and intentionally seek to use the gifts, talents, interests, time, and resources that God gave me and my kids to love better. We love God and we love better by loving our family, others, and the world. God is a part of our family and we are adopted into His family, the Church. There’s always a spot at God’s table for us! Take a moment and let that sink in. We are never alone. We are surrounded, even if only spiritually, by millions of brothers and sisters in Christ. Let’s call on each other, help each other, and put each other at Jesus’ feet.


Manna

  • Make Jesus a part of your family, your best friend. Get right with God so you can in turn help your kids get closer to Him. Start through praying that the Holy Spirit can speak to you through disciplines and fill your head with Jesus. Here’s some ideas from my heart to yours. The more I do things like this, the more I feel God’s love and can more easily share that love. The more I do things like this the more I want to do even more, to be even closer to God. The more I do these things the more I see my kids doing them too.

    • Read a chapter of Ephesians every dinner time. If it’s your style, draw a picture as a family of something that stood out from the passage after dinner.

    • Wake up early and listen to the Bible with your spouse. I like YouVersion for listening to my favorite translation.

    • Memorize scripture that has to do with something happening in your home this week. Post it all over your home and review it at mealtimes. There are apps that can creatively help you remember the verses.

    • Write down how you spend your time for one whole day or week. Pray and spend time with God with that log in front of you. Where are you not making God your priority? How can you change that this week? Believe that God can and will be present every second of your day, no matter where you are..

    • Write down how much time you spend in prayer, whether it’s the eyes-closed, hands-folded type or the while-changing-a-diaper type. Challenge yourself to pray more tomorrow than you prayed today. Also challenge yourself to make bigger prayers with God’s perspective in mind. Believe that God can and will show up in His perfect time and let that be reflected in your prayers.

    • Start or continue creating visuals of prayers, answered prayers, and ways you’ve seen God moving. This could be journaling, writing in an app on your phone, or hanging up things on the wall.

    • Instead of video streaming services to relax watch a sermon by Tim Mackie or Francis Chan on Youtube. The Bible Project on Youtube is great for shorter free times. Or watch the Chosen to refresh your soul. If you have not seen War Room, please find it and watch it!

    • Go to this site and click the link that says, “Spiritual Stepping Stones” for ideas on how to talk to kids about God, according to their age.


We are called to love God with all our strength. To make Him our priority. It's hard to always display love for God because He’s not in the flesh. We can't physically hug Him or see His loving face. But He calls us to make Him the center. Look at how others see you. Would they say He’s your center? Are you chasing the Messiah in all areas? Do you remember all that He's done- in the Bible and in your life? Do you realize and remember how Powerful He is? I often hear that a good life should be balanced, but did Jesus live that out or did he practice and preach a life of wholehearted love and service to God and God’s image bearers?

Is God a part of your family? Do you argue with him? Do you thank Him? Do you spend time just being with Him? Is He your priority? Is He your treasure? Imagine if He’s in the room with you and you’re answering to Him.

Lots of questions but there's just one answer that He needs from you… Yes or no.


Lord,

May my answer be Yes!

Thank You for always having open arms for me to turn back to You when my answer is no.

May I take this opportunity to completely trust in You and Your power and turn every part of my life over to You. May my eyes be opened more and more to Your Goodness and to anything in my life that is not wholeheartedly Yours.

Amen.


24 views

Recent Posts

See All

Love Family

A friend asked me how I know that my 3 year old son loves me. I had to think about it to answer with more than a, “I just know”. We all say “I love you” in my family, but how is it demonstrated? M oft

bottom of page