top of page
  • Writer's pictureMamo

Inviting Him In

“Inviting” is an interesting word. To my boys that word would bring up eagerness for their own birthdays as they invite all their friends and family to join in their birthday fun. In the minds of my boys, they have to wait wayyyy too long for this each year.

What we don't have to wait for is God's invitation into what He is doing. It only takes a listening ear and a thoughtful spirit to join in with what He's already doing and a humble heart to abandon our own plans when they don't align with His. When I know I am doing His will the Pause app helps me invite Him into my life even more. And not only the areas that come to mind more quickly like my time, “Be with me during my quiet time,” and specific events, “Bless this time together at church,” but also into my inner thoughts and emotions. Of course my omnipotent and omnipresent God is already there, but it is so easy for me to do the opposite of inviting. I often push Him away without even realizing it. When I’m sad do I say, “God be here with me” or do I often struggle alone in my head? When I’m joyful do I say, “God, thank you” or do I just enjoy the moment that I wish would last longer? When my kids are inconsolably crying or melting down, do I cry out to God to show us His bigness and to comfort their souls? Far too often the answer is no. Far too often I have my hands held tight rather than opening them up to my Father, rather than inviting God into my sometimes crazy and hectic life.

Am I a lost cause? A hopeless case? Not so because of Christ doing work in me, being in me, and partnering with me! As I tell my kids and my art students and that I need to tell myself more - “Practice makes better.” The more I invite God into the craziness that is my life, the more it will become second nature to invite Him in. The more it will be a seamlessly integrated part of my day rather than feeling like it takes a quiet break in my day to get done. I’ve noticed the practice working. When I was exercising in my closet this morning (Hey, if that’s the only way it can get done I’ll do it!), I invited Him into what I was doing to take care of His temple. Nothing changed with this one sentence except my perspective. But sometimes that gift of a simple shift can move personal mountains and make big ripples in the lives of those around me.

I don’t say “Practice makes perfect" on purpose. The other day M asked why God didn’t make people perfect. A big question from a little boy. I’m thankful that El Shaddai, God Almighty, loves us imperfect people in an intimate way, that grace abounds, and that He gives us tools to connect to His vine. Life can be broken and messy but when my perspective is on Him, that imperfection can be so beautiful.


God,

I release everyone and everything to You. Restore my union with You.*

Thank you for endless opportunities to invite You into where You are already.

Thank you for giving my kids and I emotions. Please shift our perspectives to You and what You are doing when we use them inappropriately.

Help my kids and I always choose You.

Amen.




*These words are from the app. I’m not affiliated with the app. I just enjoy it and I invite you to tell me if you enjoy it too! https://www.pauseapp.com/


38 views

Recent Posts

See All

Idaho

Be Kind or Be Quiet

My 7 and 4 year olds get along great! They have a constant buddy to help them feel comfortable in new situations, a partner in crime, and always someone to play with. The 4 year old gets along great w

bottom of page