top of page
  • Writer's pictureMamo

Every Story Whispers His Name

My sons love Paw Patrol, a show about first responder pups who love helping. They have enjoyed this show for years. It seems to be an unfading fascination for them. A few nights ago they, along with everyone who lives in our house, watched a short Paw Patrol movie. My youngest (J, 4 years old) made scared whimpering sounds a few times throughout the movie but made it through the whole thing. My kids don’t watch a lot of movies so they get scared easily when they do watch. My oldest (M, 6 years old) squealed with delight several times when the good guys were winning.

Afterwards, as they were in their beds and listening to the Jesus Storybook Bible story of the tower of Babel, I commented on the people thinking they don’t need God, kind of like a pup in the movie who said they felt like they got over their fears with their own power. I said we need God’s help for everything. I continued reading, but immediately after M said he wanted to talk about God and the Paw Patrol. He wanted to make connections too. He said a pup named Skye was brave to face her fear of eagles, just like Jesus was brave to die on the cross. He was drawn to this and decided he wanted her on his “team” now. He was also imagining if 3 of the pup’s jets had combined they would be more powerful and it reminded him of each person of God - God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit - 3 in one. I reminded him that God is holier than all that He created, more powerful than 3 pups could ever be.

He was trying so hard to make connections. I like how he’s thinking like this and pray that his connections get clearer and stronger as he gets older. His connections and desire to see God in any story reminded me of the subtitle for the Jesus Storybook Bible, which is “Every story whispers His name.” Its meaning is that every Bible story points to Jesus, but I think it can also mean that every story, whether it be Star Wars or The Three Little Pigs or Paw Patrol can be used to explore an aspect of God or the idea of good and evil, etc. Every story can be a discussion starter for things that are different than God’s ways or that line up with God’s ways. If we look closely and ponder ideas, anything can point us to God. He is the creator of all things, so it makes sense that He can be found in anything if we look closely enough.

M ended the night with a prayer for people who wrote Paw Patrol to know God and for God to tell my youngest (J) about Him so he’d believe in Him. M was concerned that J was telling people that he was a follower of Christ when he hadn’t actually accepted Him into his heart. J got a little upset about this, he felt left out. J said he believes in God and talks to him in his sleep. I told him that his brother loves him very much and wants the best for him. I thought it was so sweet that M was so eager to make connections and to pray for others and his brother.

God created the writers of Paw Patrol and I join M in praying for their salvation and for those around us. How beautiful that we can see Jesus even in stories that aren't directly about Him at all and that we can make connections in what we see and hear to who He is, what He teaches, and His character. It makes me want to go on a connections hunt in the world around me and in the stories I hear, who knows what I’ll discover. Will you join me?




P.S. All the pups have a catch phrase.

Marshall: "I'm ready for a ruff ruff rescue!"

Rubble: "Rubble on the double!"

Chase: "Chase is on the case!"

Rocky: "Don't lose it, Reuse it!"

Zuma: "Ready, set, get wet!"

Skye: "This pup's gotta fly!"

What would my catch phrase for God be?

Mamo: “To love and serve!” perhaps

What would yours be?


16 views

Recent Posts

See All

Idaho

Be Kind or Be Quiet

My 7 and 4 year olds get along great! They have a constant buddy to help them feel comfortable in new situations, a partner in crime, and always someone to play with. The 4 year old gets along great w

bottom of page