top of page
  • Writer's pictureMamo

4th Grade Art

I love teaching art at a Christian school to Pre-K through 4th graders. You can see more details about the other grades here. This post is about my 4th graders. Their projects are inspired by the modern history they learn about with a history timeline song as a memory tool. The last day of class is always tough for me because I have to say good-bye as their classroom art teacher forever, some of whom I have taught since Pre-K! As a way to make memory of them last longer in my classroom, I have each one draw a picture in a coloring book style for the students the next semester to color in when they finish their projects early. I call it a legacy drawing and the students get really into leaving a mark in my classroom. It’s also fun for the younger kids, especially when I tell them they get to do it on their last day of class with me. Something to look forward to, although I’m hoping time slows down!


One stanza of their history timeline song, to the tune of Mary Had a Little Lamb, says, “Global times zones, electric light bulbs, and a transcontinental railroad helped the US become modern in the late 1800’s.“ We talk about the importance of inventions in making the world a more modern place, particularly the invention of the modern paint tube. Did you know artists once stored paint in pig bladders? I always get at least one, “Eww!” in class. Thankfully, modern resealable caps have prolonged the paint inside and allowed for easily painting outside in nature! My students take turns wrapping a toilet paper tube in plaster cloth to make their paint tube form. It's a slow process but worth it in the end. They paint their sculpture, add a clay cap, and even add some glitter if desired. I am not a fan of glitter (the mess!) but it does make this project sparkle! I pray that when these students see their paint tube on their shelf they are encouraged to use the creativity God has given them, because you never know when a new revolutionary idea might surface! 



The next project is inspired by Norman Rockwell, who painted during the time of WWII. The song goes, “1939-45 Again there’s a war, known as World War II. The Allies spent money, men, and hours, To defeat the Axis powers.” In 1943 Rockwell painted a series of paintings depicting four freedoms Americans hold. I ask my students to search through a bunch of old calendars I have that show Rockwell’s paintings and try to find something in common with most of them. They spot that there’s a dog in many of Rockwell’s paintings. The students create a monochromatic collage of a dog, inspired by Rockwell’s love and use of dogs in his artwork. I pray that these students use the freedom they have in this country to share openly and boldly about the hope we have in Jesus!



Did you know that pigeons have saved lives during WWII? My students create a bird’s nest using a bird's eye perspective inspired by this amazing fact. I pray these students never get tired of noticing wonderful stories around them that point to the idea of loving others.


Next up in our study of history is the space race. “1947-91 A war without fighting, which no one won. Between the Soviets and the United States, The Cold War and Space Race.“ Peter Thorpe’s rocket paintings inspire my students as they create their own space scene, using value (light to dark of a color) to make planets and rockets look more 3D on the page. I pray these students always have an eagerness to try new things, shoot for the sky, and give God the glory. 





The last stanza of their song is, “The world can be scary and full of strife, With war and evil forces...But one day soon our King will come Jesus will make it right!“ We read parts of Revelation and discuss what we think the New Earth might look like after Jesus returns. Students create a landscape artwork filled with patterns. I pray these students seek God with their whole life until He returns. 



As my students work through my class, my goal is that their vocabulary for describing and discussing art grows with the help of the Elements of Art and Principles of Design that I’ve described in other posts. I hope that they discover or grow a love of creating in my class and that they find courage in trying new and hard things. I know not all of my students enjoy art or will go into an art-based career, but God has made us all to create something. All with the help of God and for His glory. 

Every class starts with Lanny’s (our mascot’s) liturgy with what the students say in italics - 


Here we will notice and appreciate beautiful things.


         And God said it was good.


Here we will reflect who God is by using the creativity He has given each of us.


         And God said it was good.


Here we will do hard things and try new things together, encouraging each other along the way.


         And God said it was good.



Lord, 

Thank you for the chance to teach these students. I pray they follow after You all of their days, with whatever they do. Help them understand that it is You who give them talent and ideas. 

Please help me teach them well about Your creation and Your beauty. 

Amen. 




*Some pictures are my examples and some are student work

24 views

Recent Posts

See All

1st Grade

bottom of page